Skip to main content.

2013-14 Winter League Division 1 Table

 TeamP WDL FAPts
1HOP POLE C18152110143148
2KENNYS WHACKPACK18142210440148
3BEAR & PHEASANT1811349252128
4PERKINS CUE1812248955127
5ST. GEORGES B1810267767109
6JOINERS ARMS18819697594
7ST. GEORGES A184311519366
8GPO CLUB A181512489656
9PERKINS Z1815124410052
10MORRIS MAN181116459949

(Click on a row in the above table to see more information)
May 2014
winter league 2014 review


Hop Pole C have been crowned the Market Promotions Sunday Pool League Champions 2013/14 for the first time. They had to overcome defending champions Perkins Cue to take the crown, running out 6-2 winners. Victorious for the Hop Pole during the season were Duncan Sunderland (capt), Alan Mason, Simon Key, Kev Brown, Mick Addison & Baz Davies. Missing by virtue of fewer match wins was the Kennys Whackpack who could only equal the Hop Pole result with a 6-2 success over 3rd place Bear & Pheasant. Representing the Whackpack were Rob Wharne, Mark Billingsley, Gaz Davies, Jez Graham & Simon W Davies. Morrisman broke their winning duck with a 7-1 win over fellow strugglers Perkins Z but are still relegated after one season in the top flight. St. Georges B secured 5th place after they ran out 6-2 winners over their 'A' team.

Claiming the Most Wins was current England international Rob Wharne (Kennys Whackpack) with 29 wins in 34 matches.

The 'Jim Simpson' 8-ball trophy also went to Rob Wharne with 6 clearances. In total, 38 '8-ball' clearances were made by 20 different players!


Metro Bar A are the Division Two Champions after winning the 3rd Division title the previous season. They finished 10 points clear of their nearest challengers Hop Pole B. Playing for the Metro Bar A were Roy Brown (capt), Alan Farrow, Dave Ashton, Andy Palin & Paul Shepard. Representing the Hop Pole B were Kev Lewis, Aaron Lewis, Graham Nunn, James Heath Daz Willets. Kennys Potters pipped 3rd place with a 7-1 victory. While the Hop Pole E lost at the Met Bar A 5-3. Luckpenny ended their season on a high with a 5-3 win over Hop Pole D. Radford Rejects managed to hold the runners up, Hop Pole B, to a 4-4 draw.

Claiming the Most Wins was Roy Brown (Metro Bar A) with 32 wins from 39 matches.

Sharing the '8-ball' trophy in a four way tie was Dave Ashton (Metro Bar A), Craig Jenkins (Joiners Rebels), Dave Rose (Highfields) & Jimmy Carter (Bull B) all with ONE each.


Star & Garter A have already been crowned champions and had Tom Gilman, Saul Perry, Liam Collins, Andy Bent & Mick Stark to thank. Kennys WSR finished runners up and will be promoted. Sean Lucas, Rich Davies, Ian Hollinshead, Ben LeMaistre & Ian Higgins have appeared for the Kennys side this season. Princess Royal B finished strongly to claim 3rd place with a 6-2 win at the Waggon & Horses, who had to settle for 4th place. Princess Royal A finished 5th after losing at home to Four Crosses 6-2. While the Bear & Pheasant ended their campaign with a 8-0 win over lowly Luckpenny B 

Claiming the Most Wins was shared. Tom Gilman (Star & Garter A) and Ben Heath (GPO Club B) with 26 wins from 35 matches.

The only sole 8 ball trophy went to Liam Collins (Star & Garter A)

May 2014
end of season preview


The final games of the season are upon us and its neck and neck with both Hop Pole C & Kennys Whackpack locked on 139 points, with the Hop Pole C on top by virtue of most wins. The Hop Pole C play their final game against Defending champions Perkins Cue while the Kennys Whackpack are at home to the 3rd place Bear & Pheasant. The Whackpack have to better the result the Hop Pole C get against the Cue to become the League Champions, so an exciting finish to the season awaits! The individual most wins is currently led by England international Rob Wharne (Whackpack) with 28 wins closely followed by Andy Rawlinson (Bear & Pheasant) with 26. The Jim Simpson 8 Ball trophy has been won by Rob Wharne with 6 clearances. The Morrisman go into the final game still searching for their first win of the campaign and are at home to Perkins Z. The other remaining fixture involves an all St. Georges 'derby'.


Metro Bar A are edging closer to the 2nd division title with a 7 point lead over their nearest challenger Hop Pole B. A draw at home to 3rd place Hop Pole E will see the Metro Bar A secure back to back promotions to the 1st division. The Hop Pole B are at home to lowly Radford Rejects and will have to achieve maximum points to have any chance of overturning the Metro Bar's lead. The battle for 3rd remains tight with the Hop Pole E occupying that place, and with Kennys Potters Joiners Rebels & Staffs Bull B all vying for that position. The Highfields have completed their fixtures while both Radford and the Luckpenny are both facing relegation to the 3rd division. Roy Brown (Met Bar A) holds a 1 frame lead over Kev Lewis (Hop Pole B) for the Most Wins trophy. There is a 4 way tie for the 8 ball trophy.


Star & Garter A are the 3rd division Champions having completed their league campaign. The victorious team was led by Tom Gilman, Saul Perry, Andy Bent, Liam Collins & Mick Stark. Congratulations to them. The runners up spot has also been decided with Kennys WSR securing that position. They were led by Sean Lucas, Rich Davies, Ian Hollinshead, Ian Higgins, Ed Hollinshead & Ben Lemaistre. Tom Gilman (Star & Garter A) currently leads the 3rd Division most wins trophy by 1 frame over Ben Heath (GPO B). The GPO B play the Kennys C on the last game of the season. The only 8 ball clearance belongs to Liam Collins (Star & Garter A). Waggon & Horses currently occupy 3rd place and will be playing at home to 4th place Princess Royal B.

Nov 2013
opening league fixtures

SUNDAY 3rd November 2013

Division ONE - Teams in brackets were original teams from Season 2012/13