Skip to main content.

2022-23 Winter League Division 1 Table

 TeamP WDL FAPts
1INSTITUTE TTFD1813419351136
2THE KENNYS CUE1813149450134
3KENNYS BEAR1812158559122
4WAGGON & HORSES189548064112
5METRO BAR188557569104
6INSTITUTE 8's185310677785
7METRO BAR A18468628280
8KENNYS REBELS184212608474
9KENNYS TAP183411588671
10OXLEATHERS A183114469856

(Click on a row in the above table to see more information)
May 2023
winter season 2022/23

Winter League 2022/23 Review


Division ONE

Congratulations to Institute TTFD on becoming League Champions for a 4th year in a row.

However, in what proved to be a close run contest, it was down to the last game of the season. A 4-4 draw at home to Waggon & Horses was enough to secure the league title by 2 points over The Kennys Cue who pushed them all the way. The Kenny’s Cue won their last match 5-3 which proved to leave them short. 

Victorious for the Institute throughout the campaign was Rob Wharne (capt), Jake Cooper, Gaz Baker & Ian Lewis.

Representing the Cue men was Dave Whitfield (capt), Martin Preistley, Nicky Hodgkinson, Mike & Dave Barker.

At the other end of the table Oxleathers A fete was already confirmed, however it proved to be last day drama for both Kennys Tap and Kennys Rebels who both had to win well. It was the Rebels 7-1 win that was enough to secure division One status.

Rob Wharne (Institute TTFD) had the most wins with 33 out of 36 matches. 

Mark Billingsley (Institute 8’s) & Gav Davies (Kennys Bear) had the most 8 balls with 5 each.


Division TWO

Congratulations to Kennys Underdogs on winning Division Two and gaining promotion to the 1st Division. The title was secured a couple of weeks prior and won comfortably by 29 points. The underdogs were represented by Jamie Wright (capt), Sean Casey, Aaron & Bailey Wright. 

The other promotion place proved to be a lot closer with the Holmcroft securing the runners up spot by one point over the Joiners Arms. Holmcroft’s 4-4 draw with the Underdogs proved enough as the Joiners could only manage a 5-3 win in their last game. 

The Holmcroft were represented throughout the season by Ian Nunn (capt), Dan Nunn, Lee Sturgess, Paul Lazenby & Steve Brookes. 

The relegation battle was similar to the 1st div. Staffs Bull fete was already confirmed, however Waggon & Horse B were denied 2nd div status by the slender margin of least draws as they were tied on points with Kennys Killers. Only 2 points separated 4 teams for the final relegation spot. 

Simon Pye (Joiners Arms) had the most wins with 28 out of 34 matches.

Bailey Wright (Underdogs) & Brendon Ruttledge (Joiners) had the most 8 balls with 2 each. 


Division THREE

Staffs Bully Bull secured the Division three title a couple of weeks ago after dominating the season throughout. They won by a healthy 14 points over their nearest challengers, the Kennys 8’s. Kennys 8’s 4-4 draw with Princess Royal B in their final game was enough to secure promotion. 3rd place Kennys Shadows pushed them but fell away towards the end. 

Representing the Bully Bull were Daz Meeley (capt), Chris Gray, Neil McKay, Lynda Simpson and Clive Pritchard.

Representing the Kennys 8’s were Jonathon Lowe (capt), Tom Vernon, Clair Maslin & Andy Jones. 

Jonathon Lowe (Kennys 8’s) had the most wins with 27 from 32 matches. 

D Batkin (Bear), D Meeley (Bull), K Plimmer (Joiners A) & T Anderson (Allsorts) all had 1 x 8 ball.